ABC Muffins

The other night Zach and I went to a great little restaurant in downtown Raleigh called The Rockford. Service wasn’t great, but the food was. I got the ABC (apple, bacon, cheddar) sandwich, and it was one of the best things I’ve ever eaten (probably helped that I was starving by the time I got my food!). It was apple, bacon, and cheddar inside french toast, essentially. Sort of a monte cristo with apple.

I really enjoyed having muffins for lunch last week, they were so easy to make and to get ready each morning. So this week I was trying to think of what kind of muffin to make, and I thought of that sandwich.

The batter for this looks WAY dry, almost more like cookie dough. My thought was that the apple would release moisture. But up until the point I bit into the muffin I was convinced that they were going to be too dry. They are dense, but they weren’t dry. I also realized after I pulled them out of the oven that I had planned to put some onion and garlic in, and forgot. I didn’t include them in the ingredients, but you could certainly add some.

So Zach was a bit hungry and decided to test one of these muffins for me. He declared that it wasn’t really the best thing ever, and I was feeling sort of dejected. But then he had the thought to dip it in some maple syrup, and suddenly a just “okay” muffin became GREAT. He said he wants to eat them for breakfast. I say that breakfast isn’t just for breakfast, so I’ll eat them for lunch.

ABC Muffins

Ingredients

1st set:
-3/4 cup whole wheat flour
-1/4 cup all purpose flour
-1/3 cup wheat germ
-1/3 cup ground flax seed
-1 Tbsp sugar
-1 tsp. baking soda
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-1/2 – 1 tsp salt

2nd set:
-1/2 Cup Egg Beaters (or other liquid egg substitute, I used the type with extra Omega 3) or 2 eggs
– 1 1/2 green apple, diced (I used one Granny Smith, and 1/2 Golden Delicious)
-1/2 stick butter, melted
-1/2 c. bacon, cooked and chopped
-1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, diced

Mix the 1st set of ingredients together and mix the second set of ingredients (make sure the butter has cooled before you add the egg) together in two separate bowls.

Mix the two sets of ingredients together.

Spoon into a buttered muffin pan

350 degrees for 20-25 minutes for regular sized muffins.

Serve with maple syrup!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ABC Muffins

Note: I actually used *slightly* less flax/wheat germ, and *slightly* more all purpose flour. But I couldn’t really come up with a measurement for that, and I think the measurements provided will work just fine. You could also just use whole wheat and all purpose flour, or completely all purpose flour. You just want 1 2/3 c of flour, total.

Leave a comment