Feed the Freezer

So, as of Monday I will be able to say, “this baby will be full term NEXT month.”

Crazy.

It means it’s time to start thinking of things to feed to my freezer, so that when baby comes we will have easy, nutritious, meals to reheat.

So I’m going to add to this blog post as I think of things that are great for the freezer. Or things that I *think* are great for the freezer. We’re going to get a deep freezer soon, which should help with my aversion to freezer burned food.

If you have a favorite food to freeze, leave the suggestion in the comments!

Eastern NC BBQ, with or without sauce already added.

Chicken BBQ

Easy Tomato Sauce

Chicken Broth

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

Veggie Burgers

Chicken and Cream Cheese Eggrolls

Homemade Pizza Rolls

Ricotta Pea Wontons

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins
, and other muffins that would make a great quick breakfast.

Vegetable soup (the only recipe on my page is for fresh veggie soup, and I’d be using mostly canned stuff, due to the time of the year. I’ll try to post a canned veggie soup recipe sometime soon)

Meatloaf

Lasagna

A lot of these things would be frozen in individual serving sizes, or two-person serving sizes. Chicken broth would generally be frozen in one-cup blocks. Sauces can be frozen in ice cube trays and then put in a baggie after they’re frozen.

4 Comments »

  1. maegen said

    Enchiladas
    Potato Soup

  2. Lynda said

    Potato Soup? Really? I never thought of freezing it, so that’s good to know. I froze some peanut butter fudge squares at Christmas to see how that would work, and it seemed to do fine. Peanut butter is nutritious, isn’t it?

    Also,we freeze Bill’s every kind of bean soup.

  3. Alex said

    Chili base!
    When I make it to freeze, I start the bean soaking the night before instead of the morning before. That way, after cooking on low in the crock pot for the base, the beans aren’t quite all the way done and will finish when it gets reheated, avoiding the dreaded mushy chili bean. I used to do half beef, half veggie beef (sauteed with the beef for flavor, since it has the texture already. Now, it’s all meaty.) If I want to add diced tomatoes, I add them at the beginning of the reheat, but if I want to add veggies to the chili, I add those near the end.

  4. Heather said

    I make muffin batter ahead and freeze it uncooked in the muffin tins, then pop them out into freezer bags. Then I can bake a few at a time when the oven is on for other things. I use a variation of the moosewood muffin recipe and just add 5 min to the baking time.

    Spicy dal or other lentil things freeze well in my experiences.

    Pretty impressive list you’ve got going!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

