Easy tomato sauce

I usually make tomato sauce that takes a long time. It involves grating carrots and zucchini and finely chopping an onion and chopping herbs, etc. Then I cook it for a couple of hours. It’s pretty good, but not always what I’m looking for.

So when this easy tomato sauce recipe showed up in my google reader I decided to try it out. I was a bit skeptical because it just seemed too easy. My aunt can make it because it only has three ingredients.


Here’s the link to the blog where I first read about it.

Easy Tomato Sauce

1 28 ounce can of whole peeled tomatoes
5 tablespoons of butter
1 onion, peeled and cut in half.

Put all of the ingredients in a pot. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for about 45 minutes, stirring occasionally. As you stir press into the tomatoes to help break them up. Pull out the onion halves and discard. I used my immersion blender to get it nice and smooth at this point, though you could leave it chunky, or you could use a strainer spoon or something to get the chunks of tomato out. I added a bit of salt, but it didn’t need much.

The result? It was fantastic. The tomatoes I bought had basil in them, which I didn’t realize until I got home, but I think it would have been just as good without them.

Now I want to beat my head into the wall for every carrot I ever grated.

Definitely try this out. It’s even cheaper than some canned sauces, considering I think the can of tomatoes was under $2, one medium onion costs maybe 75 cents, and just over half a stick of butter costs maybe 50 cents. So… that’s not very much money or effort for some really good sauce.

3 Comments »

  1. Lynds said

    I’m going to make this!

  2. steven rash said

    i’m on board. i’ll let you know how it turns out. i always feel that the more complicated a recipe and the longer it takes to cook (for sauce) than its always going to be better.

  3. […] Easy Tomato Sauce […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

