Pate de Fruit

This recipe isn’t perfected, and I can’t find anybody who seems to have perfected it. I’m still working on it, but since the issue is one of consistency and not taste (oh, definitely not taste), I wanted to go ahead and share it with you. If you’re feeling up to a challenge, maybe you can work on this one.

Apple Pate de Fruit

She had an issue with it never really congealing properly, and I had the same issue. I decided to make mine into more of a fruit leather or fruit roll up than a chunky candy, hoping that the thinner layer of fruit would dry out better.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I did cook it on the stove for longer than the hour, determined to make it “mound,” and I eventually got close.

Then I spread it out on a jelly roll pan lined with parchment and cooked it on “warm” for an hour and a half. My oven doesn’t go to 150, so I figured “warm” was close enough.

It was still pretty mushy on bottom, so I actually turned the oven off and left it in there over night.

This morning the top is perfect, but the bottom is still a bit mushy. But it tastes SO good. Really like the best fruit roll up ever.

I think that if I’d had more time last night that I could’ve made it better by just letting it cook longer, thus letting it dry out more. Or maybe even flipping it over once the top got nice and dry.

I cut some extra sharp aged cheddar into chunks and cut out equal-sized pieces of the pate de fruit (if it can even be called that any more). Cheddar and apple? Always a winning combination.

I’m going to attempt this again soon, and will update you if I manage to get it to actually be the right consistency.

Leave a comment