Dark Chocolate Pudding

Do you prefer dark chocolate or milk chocolate? Me, I prefer dark. The darker the better, really. Though there is a limit- I don’t really love anything above about 83%. I had a 90something percent bar one day, and though I loved tasting all the subtleties, I didn’t really love the bitter.

So when I set out to make my chocolate pudding bars, I knew I wanted dark chocolate pudding. I found a recipe that seemed to be just what I needed, though I did add more chocolate chips than it called for. I’m evil like that. Check out the original recipe here. I didn’t strain the milk part like it said, that just seemed like too much trouble.

Dark Chocolate Pudding

3 large egg yolks, beaten lightly
3 cups non-fat milk
2/3 cup granulated white sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
3 Tbsp. unsweetened dark cocoa (such as Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa)
1/8 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 oz. dark chocolate chips (such as Ghirardelli 60% cacao dark chocolate chips)- I used more like 4-5 ounces.

Separate the eggs and put the yolks in a bowl together. Save the whites separately if you want to make some yummy meringue.

In a pot, heat the milk on medium-high until it is 180 degrees. I have a thermometer, but the original recipe says that when bubbles start to form around the edges it should be about right. Remove from heat. Add sugar, cornstarch, cocoa powder, and salt. Boil over medium heat, stirring constantly, until it thickens.

Take about a cup of the hot mixture and whisk it into the eggs. This will temper the eggs and keep them from having a temper tantrum (aka- cooking)

Pour the egg mixture into the pot with the rest of the pudding and bring back to a boil on medium heat.

When it is thick like pudding, remove from heat and stir in the chocolate chips and the vanilla.

The original recipe suggests serving immediately, or placing in a glass bowl and covering with plastic wrap actually touching the pudding. This should keep that nasty school-cafeteria skin from forming. I’ve never had pudding last long enough to cover, I eat it. But if you do decide to wait, make sure you refrigerate it!

Leave a Reply

