Veggie Burger

My aunt Lynda sent me a recipe for veggie burgers the other day. I had never even considered making my own before, but they were really great. I did change the recipe a bit, not only because I compusively change recipes, but because I didn’t buy everything I needed at the store. But really, you could change this recipe in a bunch of different ways. Here’s what I did:

Veggie Burger

1 can pinto beans
1 can kidney beans
1 can black beans
1/2 yellow onion, diced
2 cups quick cooking oats
1 egg
1/2 cup ketchup
1 tsp wochestershire sauce
1/2 tsp liquid smoke
2 tbsp olive oil

Mash the beans together in a bowl (I used a potato masher, but a fork or your hands would work well, too)
Add all of the other ingredients together with the beans, and shape into patties. Be careful not to make the patties too thick or too big… they don’t shrink like real meat, and if you make them too thick they’ll be mushy inside.
Cook on medium heat in a greased skillet for 3-4 minutes on each side.

I added a slice of cheese for the last minute or so, and then I topped my burger with a slice of grilled pineapple. I just popped the pineapple down on the skillet as I pulled the veggie burgers off, and let them cook for a minute or two on each side.

You could add all sorts of things to these burgers. Just try to not add too much more moisture. If things seem too mushy, pop the mixture in the freezer for a few minutes to come together a bit more. You can also up the oats just a bit.

veggie burger

veggie burger

3 Comments »

  1. Lynda said

    This looks fabulous!

    • Lynda said

      Oh, and in the interest of full disclosure, I got the original recipe from Gail Young who got it from her brother. But I really wish I could claim it as mine because these veggie burgers are excellent.

  2. […] Veggie Burgers […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

