Turkey and Guyere Muffins

Before I went to the store yesterday I started trying to figure out what to make myself for lunch for this week. I try to cook my lunch during the weekend so that I don’t have to deal with it on weekeday mornings.

I decided to do a turkey and cheese muffin, but I wanted it to be more healthful than most of the recipes I was finding. I wanted it to be hearty enough to be lunch. I started looking for whole wheat muffin recipes, but none were what I wanted. Then I realized that I had the answer already on my grocery list. I was making Char’s Pumpkin Chocolate chip Muffins. I adapted the recipe to be savory by lowering the all purpose flour content and upping the wheat/flax content. I cut out most of the sugar.

I packed one for lunch today topped with a bit of homemade cranberry chutney and it was DELICIOUS!

You MUST make these. It was such a great lunch! I had a cup of chocolate-vanilla light yogurt as dessert, and it was nicely filling.

I think you could make this vegetarian if you could think of a nice replacement for the heartiness of the turkey. Maybe some walnuts?

If you can’t find guyere, experiment with other cheeses. A Swiss/Parmesean mix would work well, I bet.

These are great to make at the same time as the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, becuase after you make those you’ll have aproximately 1/2 cup of pumpkin leftover.

Turkey and Guyere Muffins:

Ingredients

1st set:
-3/4 cup whole wheat flour
-1/4 cup all purpose flour
-1/3 cup wheat germ
-1/3 cup ground flax seed
-1 Tbsp sugar
-1 tsp. baking soda
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-1/2 – 1 tsp salt
-dash of garlic powder

2nd set:
-1/2 Cup Egg Beaters (or other liquid egg substitute, I used the type with extra Omega 3) or 2 eggs
-1/2 Cup pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling, just straight-up pumpkin- look in the baking section, just make sure to pick up the correct can)
-1/2 Cup unsweetened apple sauce (if you buy the six-packs of personal-sized applesauce, one of those is 1/2 cup)
-2 Tbsp butter, melted
-1 cup (or 1/4 pound) diced sandwich turkey or ham (I used maple honey turkey from the deli at Harris Teeter)
-1/2 cup guyere cheese, diced
-1/3 – 1/2 small sweet yellow onion, diced

Mix the 1st set of ingredients together and mix the second set of ingredients (make sure the butter has cooled before you add the egg) together in two separate bowls.

Mix the two sets of ingredients together.

Spoon into a buttered muffin pan

350 degrees for 20-25 minutes for regular sized muffins.

Note: I actually used *slightly* less flax/wheat germ, and *slightly* more all purpose flour. But I couldn’t really come up with a measurement for that, and I think the measurements provided will work just fine.

Turkey and Guyere muffins

Leave a Reply

