Cranberry Chutney

I just realized that I have posted two recipes that call for homemade cranberry chutney, but that I hadn’t actually posted my cranberry chutney recipe (or, if I have, I can’t find it!)!

I thought I had a picture of it, but I can’t find one on my flickr. I’ll look at my computer when I get home and try to find one.

This stuff is amazing on turkey and cheese (especially Brie) sandwiches.

Cranberry Chutney

Ingredients
1 can jellied cranberry sauce
1 can whole berry cranberry sauce
1 tsp powdered ginger
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
4 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
salt to taste
1/4 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
1/2 small orange, peeled,diced
1-2 inch orange rind, finely diced
1/2-1 lemons, juice only

Combine ginger, garlic, vinegar, sugar, cinnamon and allspice in a large pot.

Simmer for about 20 minutes or until there are only several tablespoons of liquid left (this doesn’t have to be exact).

Add cranberry sauce and salt and mix and bring to a simmer.

Add nuts, orange, peel and lemon juice. Simmer slowly for 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally, until you get a nice spreadable jam-like consistancy.

If you aren’t going to eat it all in the next few days, store in an airtight container in the freezer. It won’t freeze solid, so you can just pull it out when you want it without having to thaw.

2 Comments »

  1. […] I decided to make two variations of baked brie. The first was more savory, though it still included cranberry chutney. The second was more dessert like, with a honey maple sauce on […]

  2. […] packed one for lunch today topped with a bit of homemade cranberry chutney and it was […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

