Pizza rolls

The other day I came across a recipe for homemade poptarts. It gave the suggestion of making them savory with pepperoni and cheese. Not 20 seconds later, Charlotte sent me the same recipe, so I figured it was meant to be.

It was *not* meant to be.

It was a mess. I think maybe it was too warm in my kitchen, because it was just not working right for me at all. After two ruined batches of dough, I gave up. But I had already made the pizza sauce, and I had bought pizza ingredients.

Luckily I had also bought egg roll wrappers for another purpose, and decided to use some of them to make home made pizza rolls or hot pockets or whatever you would like to compare them to.

I’m not going to put quantities on this, because you can make as many or as few as you want. I think I might try making a bunch tonight and freezing them as a healthier, less proccessed version of hot pockets.

You can generally find egg roll wrappers in the produce section of the store near the packaged greens, soy products, and healthy drinks. I don’t know why.

Obviously these ingredients are just suggestions. Use your favorite pizza toppings!

Pizza Rolls

Egg roll Wrappers (the big square ones)
Pepperoni
Ricotta
Sliced black olives
Fresh spinach
Grated mozzerella or some other italian mix of cheeses
Fresh parmesean
Pizza sauce for dipping

Lay out an egg roll wrapper and spread a small amount of ricotta diagonally across. Add a sprinkle of cheese, a few pepperonies, some torn up spinach leaves, a few black olive slices, and a bit of parmesean. Just be sure not to overfill your wrappers.

Fold the bottom corner up over the filling, then fold the side corners in on top, then wet the top flap by running a wet finger across it, and fold it down. The egg roll wrapper package probably has illustrated instructions for all of this.

Repeat until you have the quantity you want.

Brush lightly with melted butter, or just spray with cooking spray. Cook at 400 degrees for 10 minutes or so, or until they are golden brown.

Dip in or top with pizza sauce and enjoy!

Pizza WontonPizza WontonPizza Wonton

1 Comment »

  1. […] Chicken and Cream Cheese Eggrolls Homemade Pizza Rolls […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

