Chocolate yogurt

I love the chocolate whipped yogurt that Yoplait makes. But it’s not light or low fat and by the time they whip so much air in it is not very much yogurt for the money or for the calories.

Stonyfield Farms makes a chocolate yogurt, and though some of their yogurts are really good, their chocolate is GROSS.

So I figured there was no good way to get light chocolate yogurt… until I had a lightbulb moment.

Chocolate Yogurt

6-8 ounces low fat (or whatever you like) vanilla yogurt.
1 tsp cocoa powder (I used dark chocolate)

Mix the two ingredients. I then topped mine with a small handful of hemp granola to add some crunch.

A tablespoon of cocoa powder only has 5 calories and .5 g of fat. So a teaspoon is practically non-existant. If you find a tsp isn’t quite enough, add a bit more!

Also, if you buy yogurt in big containers you’ll save money and packaging. Just spoon out however much you want into a small plastic container, mix your chocolate, add cereal/granola/fruit if you want and take it to go with lunch!

Yum!

1 Comment »

  1. nell said

    Hmmm…I’m going to keep this in mind when I fire up my yogurt maker again. I might just make vanilla and then add the chocolate. But I had no idea it would be so easy to alter.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

