Chicken BBQ

This is probably my most requested recipe. It’s from a crock pot book that Zach’s mom gave me years ago, though I have tweaked it a bit.

Chicken BBQ

Chicken BBQ

3 c. (somewhere around 1.5 pounds) Diced boneless cooked chicken
1/2 c. Diced onion
1.2 c. Diced green bell pepper (or any color bell pepper, really)
1/2 T. Butter
1 c. Ketchup
1/4 c. Water or chicken broth
1 T. Brown sugar
1/2 T. Vinegar
1 T. Dry mustard
1/2 T. Celery salt

Combine all ingredients in slow cooker. Cover. Cook on low 8 hours. Stir chicken until it shreds- this can take a LOT of stirring/mashing! Serve on buns.

Note: I usually boil the chicken and then go ahead and shred it some before I even put it in the crock pot.

Also, I have cooked this in as little as 2-3 hours on high, but it involves an arm wrenching amount of stirring to get it to shred. And it’s definitely better if you let it cook longer.

If you notice that it’s getting too dry looking, feel free to add a bit more water.

3 Comments »

  1. […] Chicken BBQ […]

  2. […] pans of lactation bars Plus I made 7 servings of chicken bbq – but we ate that […]

  3. Oh my word this sounds tasty!!! Next grocery store trip will include ingredients for this! I love me some crock pot cookin’!!!

    (It’s Liz, btw! I’m blogging again! Surprise!!! I’m going to actually try and keep it up this time…we’ll see how that goes with a 1 year old! hee!)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

