Granola Bars

I’ve been trying to find a good way to make a chewy granola bar for years. I tried several years ago for Falcon Ridge, but they involved a lot of flour and sugar, and they seemed almost more like granola cakes.

Most of the recipes that I’ve found call for lots of sugar and/or corn syrup. I wanted to find something a bit better for me, though I held no delusions that I would find something actually low in calories and fat…that’s just not the nature of the granola bar beast.

What I came up with today is really good. It’s a recipe that can be played with, if you don’t like almonds, use some other nut, or leave them out. Like raisins more than craisins? That’s cool. Don’t want dark chocolate? Fine with me.

Granola Bars

2 cups granola (I used a hemp granola from Whole Foods)
1/2 cup peanut butter (I used smart balance peanut butter, but I think that next time I’d actually use almond butter)
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1/2 cup crasins
1/2 cup almonds
1/4 cup agave nectar (you can find this at any grocery store in the aisle with all the alternative sweeteners, and artificial sweeteners)
1/4 cup honey
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/4 cup chocolate chips

In a small sauce pan heat the peanut butter, agave, vanilla, and honey until boiling. Let boil for a few minutes, stirring constantly. Don’t let it burn. Pull it off the heat after a couple of minutes boiling.

Mix the granola, flax, wheat germ, and almonds together in a large bowl. Add in the peanut butter mixture. Being careful not to burn yourself, mix it all together. Immediately press it into an 8×8 pan lined with foil or parchment. Press down firmly all over and then press some more. You want it pretty compressed. Then sprinkle with chocolate chips and press those in (your hands are going to get chocolaty, I can’t help that).

Let cool completely and then slice into bars of whatever size you like. It helps to dip the sharp knife into a cup of hot water before you slice.

Here is a little cooking tip: if you spray your measuring cup with non stick spray before you put honey in, it will help keep the honey from sticking to the cup.

granola barsgranola bar


granola bar

1 Comment »

  1. […] You can see my original recipe from a few months ago here. You can see pictures there, too. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

