Fancy-Pants Veggies

A few years ago Zach and I went to a friend’s apartment for Easter dinner. One friend had made greenbeans with a great sauce on top. I loved them so much that I emailed and asked for the recipe. She called them Fancy Pants Greenbeans. In an effort to eat more veggies, I added carrot and corn to the recipe last night. You could add any other veggie that floats your boat. I bet that some chopped up bell peppers would be good. Probably broccoli, if you like that sort of thing.

I cut this recipe in half last night, but here it is in full.

Fancy-Pants Veggies

2 lbs fresh greenbeans
2 carrots, peeled and diced
1 can corn
1/2 cup butter
4 Tbs flour
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup light cream
grated nutmeg (optional)
1/2 cup almonds (blanched)
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 cup Ritz crackers

Cook the veggies.

Bring the butter to a simmer then add the flour. Pour in the broth and cream and simmer until they thicken. Crush the crackers in and add almonds and cheese. Then stir in the veggies.

If it is too thick, add some extra broth. Make sure to heat the broth first, especially if you used fresh Parmesan, and not the powdery stuff. Otherwise it may separate.

I didn’t have any almonds last night, so I used chopped pecans instead. I also used 1% milk, because that’s what I had on hand, and it’s better for me anyhow. I also used whole wheat Ritz.

I still ended up with too much sauce. But I think I may not have had the full amount of greenbeans by the time I snapped the ends off of them all, and got rid of the really ugly ones. Harris Teeter didn’t have great greenbeans this weekend.

fancy pants veggies

Leave a Reply

