S’mores Cupcakes Take 2

I think I’m done with cupcakes for a while. At least as far as making them just for us at home. There are bound to be some desserts that are better for us, but damn are cupcakes good. And there are endless combinations of cake/filling/frosting to try.

I hate store bought icing. At least the kind you buy from the grocery store that is basically nothing but unflavored crisco and powdered sugar. Ugh. It coats the top of my mouth and makes me want to cry. But I love homemade icings. I’ve tried a few different kinds, and they’re all great.

This weekend, when I went to make my S’mores cupcakes, I realized I didn’t have any marshmallow fluff for the icing. I did have a ton of regular marshmallows, so I googled to try to find something that would work. What I discovered was that a plain ol’ meringue frosting would have a marshmallowy taste, since marshmallows are mostly sugar.

I think I have come close to perfecting the S’mores cupcake!

S’mores cupcakes

Makes 16-18 regular cupcakes

Graham Cracker Cupcakes
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups finely crushed graham crackers
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk
1/4 recipe chocolate frosting (or you could use plain chocolate ganache)

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Mix flour, crushed graham crackers, baking powder, and salt together and set aside.
graham cracker crumbs

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add vanilla. Alternately add flour mixture and milk and beat until batter is almost smooth.
batter

Spoon batter into cupcake papers, filling cups about 2/3 full.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean Remove from oven and cool.

Use a melon baller, or just a small spoon, and scoop out part of the middle of the cupcakes. Fill with chocolate ganache, or
chocolate frosting.
scoop out centersfill with chocolate

Don’t forget to let the dog lick the floor.

let dog lick floor

Meringue Frosting

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
4 egg whites
1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Combine egg whites and sugar in the top of a double boiler (or a glass bowl over but not touching a pan of simmering water). Whisk constantly over medium-high heat until mixtures reaches 160°F, about 5 minutes.
heating egg whites and sugar on double broiler

Pour egg white mixture into the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Beat on high until you get an icing consistancy. This can take a while, I was convinced mine was messed up, but it did eventually come together. Add vanilla extract 1 teaspoon at a time until desired flavor.
whip up marshmallow meringue

Pipe the meringue frosting on top of the cupcakes. At this point you can call it quits, or you can garnish. I used the awesome chocolate sugar grinder that Char gave me, but you could also top with graham crumbs or shaved chcolate.

frosttake a big bite

Leave a Reply

