Polynesian Sauce

Charlotte loves Polynesian sauce from chick-fil-a. I resisted even trying it for a very long time. I don’t neccessarily trust Charlotte’s judgement on condiments, not after she made me try peanut sauce. Plus, I just really love ketchup.

But finally I tried the Polynesian suace, and it is delicious. It’s basically a sweet and sour sauce, and it’s really really good.

The other day I made Mojito chicken, and I happened to have a couple packets of Chick-Fil-A polynesian sauce leftover, so I drizzled some of it on the chicken. It fit perfectly with the citrus flavor of the chicken. But, I only had two leftover packets of sauce, and that wasn’t going to get me very far. After those were gone I decided to do some research and try to find a clone recipe for Polynesian sauce. There seemed to be two different recipes out there claiming to be “Polynesian Sweet and Sour Sauce,” so I went with the easier one, which also happened to be the one that looked closer. I also found a copy of the ingredients in Chick-Fil-A’s sauce. Based on these things, I came up with what is definitely not a clone of their sauce, but is fairly close, and still really good.

Polynesian Sauce

1/2 c Pineapple juice
1/4 c Honey
3 tb Worcestershire sauce
1 ts Ground ginger
1 ts Salt
1/2 ts Garlic powder
1 tbsp Ketchup
Cornstarch (optional)

Mix the ingredients together in a small bowl. Yum. You could leave out the ketchup if you wanted to, but I added it because some of the other recipes for polynesian sauce call for vinegar and tomatoes. This seemed like an easy way to keep the recipe smooth, while adding a vinegar and tomato flavor.

If it is too runny, sprinkle in a bit of cornstarch, but make sure to stir well.

sweet and sour polynesian sauce

3 Comments »

  1. […] Mojito Chicken with Goat Cheese and Polynesian Suace 4 Chicken Breasts 1/2 Bottle Dinosaur BBQ Mojito Marinade (or other lime based marinade) 1 handful cilantro (optional) 1 handful chopped green onion Goat Cheese Polynesian Sauce […]

  2. […] Raw chicken tenders cut into chunks that are aproximately 1 inch square Soy sauce Garlic powder Paprika Cornstarch Flour Olive oil for cooking Sesame Seeds Altered polynesian sauce […]

  3. Peanutsmama said

    Ken’s Sun Dried Tomato Salad Dressing + Sugar to taste = Almost identical!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

