Mojito Chicken

I make chicken a lot. I eat it the first night and it’s good, but leftover meat just isn’t my thing. I am only barely a meat eater to begin with… and by the second night I’m usually not going to go there.

A few weeks ago we found Dinosaur BBQ sauce at Harris Teeter. Dinosaur BBQ is the one non-human thing that I miss about Rochester, and I miss it a LOT. It was very slow cooked, big chunks of pork. When we went there I always ordered the “Bar B San” which was their BBQ on a nice deli roll with a slice of provolone. My mouth is watering like Pavlov’s dog just thinking about it.

So finding the sauce at Harris Teeter was a moment of pure bliss. I stood in the aisle and stared. When Zach finally looked my direction, I just pointed. It took him a second to see what I was staring at, but when he finally did, he got a pretty big smile, too.

We actually have a decent stock of the Slatherin’ Sauce at home, as we brought some back from Rochester when we moved, we mail ordered some, and Zach brought some back after he screened his thesis. But we couldn’t not buy something, what if it wasn’t ever seen in NC again? So we bought the Mojito dressing and marinade.

This was pretty straightforward to use, I just dumped about half the bottle on four chicken breasts, threw in a handful of chopped cilantro and green onion, and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. Then I cooked it.

THEN I had a stroke. A stroke of genious. I spread goat cheese on top of mine, and then drizzled it with my not-quite-a-clone of Chick-fil-a’s Polynesian sauce.

What I’m trying to say here, is that this was so good that I ate it the next day.

Mojito Chicken with Goat Cheese and Polynesian Suace
4 Chicken Breasts
1/2 Bottle Dinosaur BBQ Mojito Marinade (or other lime based marinade)
1 handful cilantro (optional)
1 handful chopped green onion
Goat Cheese
Polynesian Sauce

Place the chicken in a shallow baking dish and top with marinade, cilantro, and green onion. Place in fridge for 2-12 hours.

Preheat oven to 375

Bake chicken until internal temperature reaches 165-170 degrees.

Place on plates and spread a bit of goat cheese on breasts, then drizzle with polynesian sauce.

dinosaur bbq mojito saucemojito chicken

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of the finished product. Just beleive me that it was great.

Leave a Reply

