Monte Cristo

I’ve had good Monte Cristos and I have had one spectacularly BAD Monte Cristo. My mom makes great ones, and I learned to make mine from her.

Here is what Wikipedia has to say about them.

The bad one I had was battered and deep fried. It was *painful* to eat. Ugh, it makes my stomach hurt every time I think about that sandwich.

But mine is much lighter than a deep fried monstrosity.

Here is a recipe for one sandwich, feel free to multiply the ingredients to make more.

Monte Cristo Sandwich

2 slices bread
1 slice american cheese
deli turkey
1 egg
1 tablespoon milk
pinch salt
1-2 tsp butter or margarine
maple syrup

Make a sandwich with american cheese and turkey (if you can’t figure that out without more detailed instruction, then I’m sorry, I can’t help you).

turkey

Mix the egg, milk, and salt in a shallow baking dish. Dip both sides of the sandwich in the mixture.

dipped

Heat butter over medium heat and place sandwich in pan. Cook, flipping at least once, until both sides are golden brown.

Serve with maple syrup.

Ready to eat

4 Comments »

  1. noogle said

    I would like to once again go on the record and say that Fred and Claire’s uses Cheddar Cheese, and sprinkles powdered sugar on top.

  2. rhiyaya said

    True true. I should’ve thought to put powdered sugar on this one. I usually do that if I’m serving it to other people, but not for zach and me. And I think any cheese would be good, really. Well, most any.

  3. noogle said

    They also always served them with grapes as a garnish… I’m not sure why grapes, I guess it made it more brunchy

  4. tish said

    Fred & Claire’s just went out of business. It’s strictly make-your-our Hemphills and Montes from now on….

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

