Kentucky Hot Brown (sort of)

There are many different ways of making Kentucky Hot Brown. For the full run-down, check out the Wikipedia page on the subject. I did take a couple minor liberties with mine, but it’s my food and I’ll change it if I want to!

Growing up I used to get it at Annabelle’s in New Bern. I literally teared up when I went to the Annabelle’s in Asheville one time and they didn’t have it anymore.

This recipe serves six, but I actually cut it down last night to serve two, and that works just fine. I’ll leave the quantities in their original serve-six state.

Kentucky Hot Brown

6 T. Butter
3/4 c. All-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/8 tsp. White pepper
1 1/2 c. Chicken or turkey broth
1 1/2 c. Milk
3/4 c. Parmesan cheese
12 slices Toasted bread
Sliced turkey
Paprika
12 slices Tomato
12 slices Bacon, cooked
12 slices Provolone cheese

In a medium saucepan over low heat, melt butter. Blend in flour; stirring until smooth. Stir in salt and pepper. Gradually add broth and milk. Continue cooking, stirring constantly, until smooth and thickened. Add grated cheese; simmer for about 8 minutes. Sauce will be quite thick.

Arrange 2 slices of toast on each of 6 oven-proof plates. Top each slice of toast with turkey slices, cover with sauce, then sprinkle with a little paprika. Top each with a slice of tomato and a slice of cooked bacon. Top each with a slice of Provolone.

Bake at 400° for 10 minutes or until sauce is bubbly. Hot brown sandwich recipe serves 6.

with rouxwith tomato and bacontoppeddone!

You’ll notice that the pictures don’t show any turkey. Yeah, well… that’s because we were sitting down to eat, when I suddenly said, “I forgot the turkey!” So, umm, add the turkey.

I also used diced tomatoes and crumbled bacon, because that’s how I prefer things.

I don’t have any plates that I’m sure are oven proof, so I just baked in the pyrex and transferred.

Leave a Reply

