Moravian Sugar Cake

While I’m on the subject of family recipes, this seemed like a good time to post my Moravian Sugar Cake recipe.

When I was little my grandparents had a needle point recipe for Moravian Sugar Cake on their wall. I thought it was a joke recipe, considering it called for mashed potatoes. As I got older I found out that it wasn’t a joke, and was amazed at anybody who would dare to make such a concoction. I wish I knew what happened to that needle point. (Note to family members: if anyone does happen to have that needle point, and isn’t feeling overly attached, I’d really love to have it).

This is a family recipe, it came from my cousin Susie for our long-in-coming-may-never-be-finished family cookbook, but to be truthful, I had never actually seen moravian sugar cake made from scratch, and the only from-scratch moravian sugar cake that I’d ever even tried was actually from Old Salem.

This recipe isn’t for the faint of heart, but it really wasn’t all that difficult, and the results were pretty darn good.

MORAVIAN SUGAR CAKE

2 level cups milk
1 packed pkg. cake yeast, dry or compressed
1/2 cup warm, not hot, water (lukewarm for compressed)
1 rounded cup cooled mashed potatoes
1/2 tsp salt
8 1/2 cups sifted flour
1/2 cup butter or margarine, melted
1/2 cup vegetable shortening or lard, melted
2 beaten eggs
1 level cup granulated sugar
2 level cups light brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup butter or margarine (not melted)

Scald milk; cool to lukewarm. Dissolve yeast in water. In large mixing bowl, combine cooled milk, dissolved yeast, mashed potatoes and salt; mix well. Gradually add 4 cups of the flour; beat well. Cover. Let rise in warm place until light, about 1 hour. Add melted butter, shortening, eggs and granulated sugar; beat well. Gradually add remaining flour mixing after each addition until a smooth dough is formed. Spread dough in three greased 9 x 2 inch round baking pans. Cover. Let rise in warm place until double in bulk, about 1 hour. Make 12 indentations in each cake (I couldn’t get indentations to form, so I kind of pinched it in places to make the top uneven). Using 1 cup of the brown sugar and 1/2 cup butter, cover the top of the cakes.

Also, it doesn’t say how to cook it. I did approximately 15 minutes at 375.

Here are some of the steps in photos:

Mash the potatoes-
Moravian Sugar Cake

Mix in the first set of ingredients-
Moravian Sugar Cake

Cover and let rise-
Moravian Sugar Cake

Let the dog lick the floor-
Moravian Sugar Cake

Mix in the second set of ingredients (the risen batter will swallow it!)-
Moravian Sugar Cake

Spread it in the pans and let rise again-
Moravian Sugar Cake

Put the topping on and put them in the oven-
Moravian Sugar Cake

Ready to eat!-
Moravian Sugar Cake

I do think that next time I would have used brown sugar in the cake instead of regular sugar. Though who knows what that would do to the recipe.

Leave a Reply

