Swiss buttercream

When I was making my mom’s birthday cupcakes, I thought about icing them in buttercream, but that was just not quite what I wanted, so I did some searching, and came across Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for Swiss buttercream.

Swiss Buttercream
1 cup sugar
4 large egg whites
3 sticks plus 2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Whisk egg whites and sugar together in a big metal bowl over a pot of simmering water. Whisk occasionally until the sugar is dissolved.

Transfer mixture into the mixer and whip until it turns white and about doubles in size. Make sure to avoid getting any of the condensation from the bowl into this mixture, it might well ruin it.

Add the vanilla.

Finally, add the butter a stick at a time and whip.

And keep whipping.

Whip it good

And then whip it some more.

It’ll probably look vaguely curdled for a minute there, but don’t distress. It might take 10 minutes, but eventually it should come together and turn into icing. If it doesn’t, keep whipping. At some point you’ll want to give up, because I don’t want you standing their whipping this icing for a week or anything, but seriously give it at least 10-15 minutes. Mine actually took more like 5 minutes, but I know it can take longer.

Once it’s the right consistancy, stop whipping! You don’t want to over whip! This icing can be stressful, but it tastes SO good!

I’ve read that only letting the butter soften slightly, so it’s still cold in the middle, works well. I’ve read that letting it get completely as soft as room temperature butter can be works well. So I have no idea. I used mine on the colder side, because I’m impatient.

This is great icing!

Just don’t make the mistake that I made. This icing can stay out on the counter for quite a while (a day or so, I think), so you don’t need to put it in the fridge if you’re going to wait a few hours before you use it. I did that, and when I got it out, it had seperated somewhat, and then I didnt’ bother to rewhip it. If you DO put it in the fridge, pull it out, let it get to room temp, and whip it to incorporate the butter again.

2 Comments »

  1. […] 26, 2009 by rhiyaya This post is going to bring together my last three posts. yellow cupcakes, Swiss buttercream, and marshmallow […]

  2. […] Swiss Meringue Icing 1 batch swiss meringue icing half the blueberry […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

