Double dark chocolate bundt cake with whipped cream

Last year when we were living in Zach’s parents’ house at Lake Junaluska, my mom came to visit. We went to Mud Daubers, which is a pottery shop, and my mom bought me a little half-sized beautiful blue Bundt pan. Last night I finally used it.

Credit where credit is due, this recipe came from this page.

But I’ll repost it here, along with my ever-so-slight changes. I’m just going to keep the original quantities, because probably most of you don’t own a half-sized bundt pan. But if you do, then just cut this in half (have fun with cutting the flour in half)

Double Dark Chocolate Bundt Cake with Whipped Cream

Dry Ingredients:
2 cups granulated sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I used half all-purpose and half cake flour)
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used half regular and half dark)
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt

Liquid Ingredients:
2 large eggs
1/2 cup 1% milk
1/2 cup light cream
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup. boiling water

Chocolate chips

——-

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). Grease and flour a 10-inch bundt or tube pan.

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl of an electric mixer. Add the liquid ingredients (except for the boiling water), and beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.

Stir in boiling water. Batter will be THIN. Add some chocolate chips (they will probably mostly sink)

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake in preheated oven for 50-55 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in cake comes out clean. Remove cake from oven and let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then invert cake onto wire rack and let cool completely.

Note… do not overfill the pan! 2/3 of the way is probably PLENTY! I filled it at least 3/4 and it rose over the top and spilled down into the hole in the middle, and now I am going to be smelling burning cake batter for months.

****
For the icing I mixed some corn syrup, milk, and powdered sugar. I didn’t measure. You want close to equal amounts syrup and milk…a couple tbs of each, maybe? And then add the sugar until you get it how you want it.
****

Top this with homemead whipped cream. Recipe is here.

I also added a scoop of Breyer’s double-churned no-fat ice cream. The no fat stuff is actually better than the other, to me… it’s SUPER creamy, almost custard like.

Here are some pictures…

Double dark chocolate bundt cake

Double dark chocolate bundt cake served with chocolate ice cream and homemade whipped cream.

I wonder how this would taste with boiling Guiness in place of the boiling water?

Leave a Reply

